Ad hoc Committee

Scholarship Committee

This committee’s charge is to review submitted scholarship applications (GPA, letters of recommendation and intent, and applicable nominations), approximately 40 – 50, and recommend awards for Traditional Scholarships (includes named scholarships for Michael Vail, Dennis Martin, and James Wolpert) and the ASEV Presidents’ Award Scholarships in Enology and Viticulture. Committee member may be asked to assist in interviewing top candidates by phone for the presidents’ awards. There are approximately two (2) meetings by conference/video call to review the scores and determine the recipients and award dollar amounts to recommend to the ASEV Board of Directors in May.

Committee members are comprised of professional and emeritus members per the Ad hoc Committee Protocol and are typically selected in January/February each year to be approved by the ASEV Board of Directors. To avoid conflict of interest, we recommend committee members join if they do not have students that are applying for scholarships in the given academic year that is being considered for awards.
  • Anna Katharine Mansfield (Chair), Cornell University, New York
  • Torey Arvik, Arvik & Associates, California
  • Howard Bursen, Sharpe Hill Vineyards, Connecticut
  • Robert Coleman, Treasury Wine Estates, California
  • Jeri Hoover, Jack Neal and Son Vineyards, California
  • Thayne Montague, Texas Tech University, Lubbock
  • Charlotte Oliver, Colorado State University, Fruita
  • Joe Shirley, Trinchero Family Estates, California
  • Katelyn Van Winkle, Schramsberg Vineyards, California