ASEV Extension Distinction Award


ASEV Extension Distinction Award

The ASEV Extension Distinction Award recognizes a current extension educator based on his or her outstanding contribution of:

  1. information in enology or viticulture through his or her extension program
  2. the translation of novel research findings into commercially applicable tools for enologists or viticulturists

The award recognizes distinguished contributions in extension with expertise in enology or viticulture. The recipients receive a plaque and monetary award and are expected to make a presentation on their programs at the upcoming ASEV National Conference.

The award may or may not be given annually depending upon nominations. An individual may only win this award once.

Note: This award was not developed as a lifetime achievement award, but is one that evaluates current work. Most eligible nominees have been developing Extension type programs for 7+ years.


  • nominee must be a current ASEV member
  • nominee must be a current (active) extension educator (viticulture or enology) at the time of the award
  • previous recipients of this award are not eligible

Nomination Process

Nominations of individuals actively engaged in extension and the translation of new or existing technical knowledge in the fields encompassed by enology and viticulture are encouraged.

  • nominations are accepted all year; however, to be considered for the current award cycle, nominations must be received by November 1 each year
  • nominators and nominees must be current ASEV members at the time of nomination (awardees must have maintained their membership at the time of award)
  • self-nominations are allowed
  • nominees not selected for the award in the year of the initial nomination shall be kept on file for automatic consideration again for the following award year, without requiring re-nomination
  • a nomination letter is required as a part of the nomination process - this is critical in the review process (see nomination submission form for letter content specifics)

Review Process

  • the Extension Distinction Committee, composed of ASEV board members and current professional or emeritus members, will review nomination letters
  • a CV may be requested by ASEV after nominees are reviewed for eligibility
  • the Committee will make final recommendations to the ASEV Board
  • the final selection and approval is made by the ASEV Board

Click to Submit Your Nomination (November 1 Deadline)

General information

Nomination for the Extension Distinction Award

The nomination process includes the following:

  • A brief (not to exceed 750 words) letter indicating the reason why the individual (or self, for self nominations) is deserving of the award. This letter should identify the major contributions on which the nomination is based and explain why the nominee is especially qualified to receive this award. Each of the following criteria should be addressed in the statement:
    • A noteworthy career in viticulture or enology extension education leading to an effective program of significant impact in the grape and wine industry.
    • Outstanding and innovative activities, projects, and/or methods that brought substantial and desirable changes in the grape and wine industry in the nominee’s state or district.
    • Other major contributions, activities, and services to the wine or grape industry in the area of extension of information.
    • Demonstrated leadership in enology or viticulture extension activities.
  • Letters of support may be requested by the Extension Distinction Award Committee if deemed necessary for evaluation of a candidate.
  • Eligible nominees not selected for the award in the year of the initial nomination shall be kept on file for automatic consideration again the following award year, without requiring re-nomination.

Deadline: Submit nominations through November 1.