Press release Davis, CA

Peer-Reviewed Research on Hydrogen Sulfide Formation in Canned Wines and Biological Control for Grapevine Trunk Disease Awarded Top Scientific Papers by ASEV

DAVIS, Calif., March 12, 2024…The exploration of hydrogen sulfide formation in canned wines and biological control for grapevine trunk disease in Canada took top research honors for the 2024 American Society for Enology and Viticulture (ASEV) Best Paper Awards.

The selected papers will be presented at the 2024 ASEV National Conference in Portland, Oregon, on June 17-20. Authors will be presented with a plaque and each paper will receive a monetary award to be shared among the authors.

Each year, ASEV’s Best Paper Awards Committee evaluates all manuscripts published in the American Journal of Enology and Viticulture (AJEV) from the previous year and selects one paper in enology and one paper in viticulture that reflect outstanding research and substantial contributions to the field. Both papers are highlighted in AJEV ( and are available free of charge.

For the 2024 Best Enology Paper, ASEV selected “Hydrogen Sulfide Formation in Canned Wines Under Long-Term and Accelerated Conditions.” The research report is authored by Austin Montgomery, Rachel B. Allison, Julie M. Goddard, and Gavin L. Sacks * from the Department of Food Science at Cornell University, New York.

For viticulture, ASEV selected “Biological Control of Botryosphaeria Dieback of Grapevines in British Columbia, Canada,” by authors Jinxz Pollard-Flamand, Julie Boulé, José Ramón Úrbez-Torres* of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Summerland Research and Development Centre; and Miranda Hart from the Department of Biology at The University of British Columbia, Canada.

Each committee member reads and scores each paper, with the ASEV Board of Directors making the final decision. The 2024 Best Paper Awards Committee members include:

  • James Osborne (Chair), Oregon State University, Corvallis
  • Torey Arvik, Arvik & Associates, California
  • Jeff Baccus, Advanced Viticulture, Inc., California
  • Kristen Barnhisel, J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines, California
  • Megan Bartlett, University of California, Davis
  • Terry Bates, Cornell University, New York
  • Misha Kwasniewski, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park
  • Ron Runnebaum, University of California, Davis
  • Tian Tian, University of California Cooperative Extension, Kern County

*Corresponding Authors