Ad hoc Committee

Best Paper Awards Committee

This committee’s charge is to review and reward the best papers in enology and in viticulture published by AJEV in a given calendar year. The committee selects the two papers (enology and viticulture) that represent the greatest contribution to their fields. Committee members are required to read and score each paper in their field (enology and/or viticulture) each November/December. There are also one or two meetings by conference call to review the scores and determine the winners to recommend to the ASEV Board of Directors in January.

Committee members are comprised of professional and emeritus members per the Ad hoc Committee Protocol and are typically selected in September/October each year to be approved by the ASEV Board of Directors in November. To avoid conflict of interest, we recommend committee members join if they do not have a published paper in the given year that is being considered for awards.
  • Anita Oberholster (Chair), University of California, Davis
  • Kristen Barnhisel, J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines, California
  • Luca Brillante, California State University, Fresno
  • Bob Coleman, Treasury Wine Estates, California
  • Mark Greenspan, Advanced Viticulture Inc, California
  • Alec Levin, Oregon State University, Corvallis
  • Cristina Medina Plaza, University of California, Davis
  • Qun (Kristy) Sun, California State University, Fresno
  • Miguel Pedroza Villarreal, California State University, Fresno
  • Emily Wiemer, Three Sticks Wines, California