Press release Davis, CA

ASEV Selects 2022 Best Enology and Viticulture Papers

DAVIS, Calif., March 22, 2022…The American Society for Enology and Viticulture (ASEV) has selected the 2022 Best Paper Award winners, who will present their papers during the 2022 ASEV National Conference in San Diego, June 20-22. Both papers are highlighted on and are available free of charge.

The 2022 Best Viticulture Paper is Field Performance of Winegrape Rootstocks and Fumigation during Establishment of a Chardonnay Vineyard in Washington by Katherine E. East* of USDA-ARS, Washington; Inga A. Zasada of USDA-ARS, Oregon; Julie Tarara of Ste. Michelle Wine Estates, Washington; and Michelle M. Moyer* of Washington State University, Prosser. The authors concluded that incorporating plant-parasitic nematode management as part of the process of vineyard replanting and fumigation is not an effective long-term strategy for suppressing Meloidogyne hapla.

For the 2022 Best Enology Paper, ASEV selected Whole Cluster and Dried Stem Additions’ Effects on Chemical and Sensory Properties of Pinot noir Wines over Two Vintages,” by L. Federico Casassa*, Niclas P. Dermutz, Paul F.W. Mawdsley, Margaret Thompson, and Jean C. Dodson Peterson of California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo; Aníbal A. Catania of Instituto Nacional de Tecnología Agropecuaria (INTA), Argentina; Thomas S. Collins and P. Layton Ashmore of Washington State University, Tri-Cities; Fintan du Fresne of Chamisal Vineyards and Winery in California; and Gregory Gasic, consultant from Oregon. The authors conducted this experiment at industrial scale to provide winemakers with a practical baseline for comparison when implementing whole cluster and stem additions to Pinot noir wines. The study took place during both relatively cool (2016) and warm (2017) growing seasons in California’s Central Coast, which allowed characterization of potential effects of vintage in the practice of whole cluster addition.

Each year, the ASEV Best Paper Awards Committee evaluates all manuscripts published in the American Journal of Enology and Viticulture (AJEV) during the previous year and selects one paper in viticulture and one in enology that reflect outstanding research and a substantial contribution to the field. Committee members are required to read and score each paper and the ASEV Board of Directors make the final decision. The 2022 Best Paper Award Committee includes Michelle Moyer (Chair) of Washington State University, Prosser; Torey Arvik (Co-Chair, Viticulture) of Sonomaceuticals/Whole Vine Products, California; Jeff Baccus of Joseph Phelps Vineyards, California; Mark Hoffmann of North Carolina State University, Raleigh; Molly Kelly of The Pennsylvania State University, University Park; Anji Perry of J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines, California; Joe Shirley of Trinchero Family Estates, California; Qun (Kristy) Sun of California State University, Fresno; Elizabeth Tomasino of Oregon State University, Corvallis; and Yun Zhang of Ste. Michelle Wine Estates, Washington.

*Corresponding Author