Press release Davis, CA

ASEV Selects 2017 Best Enology and Viticulture Papers

Davis, Calif., March 10, 2017…The American Society for Enology and Viticulture (ASEV) has selected the winners of the 2017 Best Paper Awards. The selected authors will be presenting their papers at the Society’s 68th National Conference on June 26-29 in Bellevue, Washington.

Researchers L. Federico Casassa of California Polytechnic University, San Luis Obispo, and Richard C. Larsen and James F. Harbertson both of Washington State University, Tri-Cities, were awarded the best enology paper for “Effects of Vineyard and Winemaking Practices Impacting Berry Size on Evolution of Phenolics During Winemaking.

The viticulture paper award was given to researchers Marc M. Greven, Sue M. Neal, D. Stuart Tustin, Helen Boldingh and Jeff Bennett of the New Zealand Institute for Plant and Food Research and Maria Carmo Vasconcelos of Eastern Institute of Technology for their paper, “Effect of Postharvest Defoliation on Carbon and Nitrogen Resources of High-Yielding Sauvignon blanc Grapevines.”

“While no easy task, the committee chose these two deserving papers from among the many papers published in the Journal,” said John Thorngate of Constellation Brands and chair of the ASEV Best Paper Awards Committee. “The expectations are high for these papers and this year is no different.”

Each year, the ASEV Best Paper Awards Committee evaluates all manuscripts published in the American Journal of Enology and Viticulture (AJEV) during the previous year and selects one paper in viticulture and one in enology that reflects outstanding research and a substantial contribution to the field. The 2017 Best Paper Award Committee includes John Thorngate (Chair) of Constellation Brands, California; Lise Asimont of Francis Ford Coppola Presents; Leticia Chacón-Rodríguez of Safe Harbor Wine Storage; Lindsay Jordon of the University of California Cooperative Extension, Madera County; Zeke Neeley of Orin Swift Cellars; Merilark Padgett-Johnson of Santa Rosa Junior College; Cassandra Plank of the University of California, Davis; Joe Shirley of Trinchero Family Estate; and David Sorokowsky of E&J Gallo Winery.

The authors will be presented with a plaque and monetary award, with the generous support of J. Lohr Vineyards, at the National Conference. Both papers are highlighted on and are available free of charge.