Press release Davis, CA

ASEV Presented 30 Students with $88,750 in Scholarships

DAVIS, Calif., July 9, 2021…The American Society for Enology and Viticulture (ASEV) selected 30 scholarship recipients to receive $88,750 in financial support in their pursuit of scientific research and advancement in enology or viticulture.

Two of the scholarship recipients, Amanda Fleming (Enology) from University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, and Adréanne Hérbert-Haché (Viticulture) from Brock University, Canada, received the ASEV Presidents’ Award for Scholarship in Enology and Viticulture, ASEV’s top scholarship. Fleming and Hérbert-Haché were awarded with $12,500 each for exceeding expectations of the traditional ASEV scholarship program as well as demonstrating their leadership capacity.

Amanda Fleming (Enology)

Adréanne Hérbert-Haché (Viticulture)

Twenty-eight students throughout the United States and Canada were awarded with the traditional scholarships to support their academic pursuit in enology or viticulture. The following is the list of the students who received a scholarship (photos are located on the website):

  • Evelyn Alvarez-Mendoza, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
  • Heather Carbon, Washington State University, Pullman***
  • Tyler Chandross-Cohen, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park
  • Yiliang Cheng, Iowa State University, Ames
  • Catherine Dadmun, Cornell University, New York
  • Angelica de Castro Iobbi, Oregon State University, Corvallis
  • Jenna Fryer, Oregon State University, Corvallis
  • Bernadette Gagnier, Washington State University, Prosser
  • Aaron Guerrero-Tejeda, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
  • Andrew Harner, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park**
  • Cassandra Hutcheson, Texas A&M University, College Station
  • Kevin Jeffries, Oregon State University, Corvallis
  • Venkateswara Rao Kadium, North Dakota State University, Fargo
  • Lauren Marigliano, University of California, Davis
  • Alexa McDaniel, Washington State University, Prosser
  • Andrew Misialek, University of California, Davis
  • Jennifer Neubauer, Cornell University, New York
  • Demetra Perry, Cornell University, New York
  • Quynh Phan, Oregon State University, Corvallis
  • Maria Alejandra Ponce de Leon Jara, University of California, Davis*
  • David Scott, University of California, Davis
  • Khushwinder Singh, California State University, Fresno
  • Runze Song, University of California, Davis
  • Jamie Spychalla, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park
  • Yu-Te Tseng, University of California, Davis
  • Claire Warren, Washington State University, Pullman
  • Nikolas Wilson, University of British Columbia, Canada
  • Maria Zumkeller, University of California, Davis

*Recipient of the ASEV James Wolpert Scholarship
**Recipient of the ASEV Michael Vail Scholarship
***Recipient of the ASEV Dennis Martin Scholarship

The ASEV Scholarship Committee includes Chair Anna Katharine Mansfield from Cornell University in New York; Torey Arvik from Sonomaceuticals/WholeVine Products in California; Howard Bursen from Sharpe Hill Vineyards in Connecticut; Ria D’Aversa from McAvoy Ranch in California; Jean Dodson from California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo; Jeri Hoover from Jack Neal and Son Vineyard Management in California; Thayne Montague from Texas Tech University, Lubbock; Katelyn Van Winkle from Stags’ Leap Winery in California; and Gordon Walker from Gordon Walker Consulting in California.

For more information about the ASEV scholarship programs, visit

Founded in 1950 by a group of researchers and winemakers, ASEV is dedicated to the interests of enologists, viticulturists and others in the fields of wine and grape research and production throughout the world.  For more information, visit