Press release Davis, CA

ASEV to Present $107,500 in Scholarships to 38 Students at the 70th National Conference in Napa

DAVIS, Calif., May 31, 2019…The American Society for Enology and Viticulture (ASEV) has selected 38 scholarship recipients to receive $107,500 in financial support for their pursuit of scientific research and advancement in enology or viticulture at the 70th ASEV National Conference’s Student-Industry Mixer on June 20 in Napa, California. 

Two of the scholarship recipients will receive the ASEV Presidents’ Award for Scholarship in Enology and Viticulture: Sarah Mayfield from the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville (Enology) and Joshua VanderWeide from Michigan State University, East Lansing (Viticulture). Mayfield and VanderWeide will receive $12,500 each for exceeding the expectations of the traditional ASEV scholarship program and for showing remarkable leadership potential.

In addition, 34 students throughout the United States and 2 students from Canada will be awarded a total of $82,500 in scholarships to support their studies in enology or viticulture. The following is a list of the students receiving a scholarship:

  • Philip “Layton” Ashmore, Washington State University, Tri-Cities
  • Mani Awale, University of Missouri, Columbia
  • Anatasiya Berst, Oregon State University, Corvallis
  • Christopher Chen, University of California, Davis
  • Tara Cook, Washington State University, Pullman
  • Cody Copp, Oregon State University, Corvallis
  • Alana Edwards, University of Georgia, Athens
  • Qiushuo Feng, The University of British Columbia, Canada
  • Jaclyn Fiola, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Blacksburg
  • Suzanne Fleishman, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park
  • Alex Fredrickson, University of Missouri, Columbia
  • Hannah Hanlon, University of California, Davis
  • Andrew Harner, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park
  • Madison Hawkins, Texas A&M University, College Station
  • Anne Kearney, Cornell University, New York
  • Stephanie Keller, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park
  • Patrick Kenney, University of Missouri, Columbia
  • Adam Lauderdale, Oregon State University, Corvallis
  • Jerry Lin, University of California, Davis
  • Justin Litwin, Oregon State University, Corvallis
  • Sarah Lyons, The University of British Columbia, Canada
  • Cory Marx, University of California, Davis
  • Alexa McDaniel, Washington State University, Tri-Cities
  • Andy Nguyen, University of California, Davis
  • Meredith Persico, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park
  • Andrew Poveromo, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park
  • Matteo Ramagli, California State University, Fresno
  • Taylor Reiter, University of California, Davis
  • Vegas Riffle, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
  • Arran Rumbaugh, University of California, Davis
  • Meghan Ruppel, Oregon State University, Corvallis
  • Nataliya Shcherbatyuk, Washington State University, Prosser
  • Andrej Svyantek, North Dakota State University, Fargo
  • Andre Swart,* University of California, Davis
  • Tian Tian,** Oregon State University, Corvallis
  • Runze “Cliff” Yu, University of California, Davis

*ASEV Michael Vail Scholarship Recipient
**ASEV Dennis Martin Scholarship Recipient   

The ASEV Scholarship Committee includes Chair Chandra Richter from Drinkworks in Vermont; For Viticulture: Ria D’Aversa of McEvoy Ranch in Petaluma, CA, David Lockwood of University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Merilark Padgett-Johnson of Santa Rosa Junior College in California, Brent Sams of E. & J. Gallo Winery in California; For Enology: Torey Avrik of Sonomaceuticals/WholeVine Products in California, Patrick Gibney of Cornell University, New York, Nichola Hall of Scott Laboratories in California, and Gordon Walker of Flotek in California.

For more information about the ASEV scholarship programs, visit