Press release Davis, CA

ASEV Announces 2021 Best Student Award Winners

DAVIS, Calif., July 12, 2021…Each year, the American Society for Enology and Viticulture (ASEV) provides a format for student presentations (oral, posters and flash talk) at their ASEV National Conference to provide professional development skills training and constructive critiques for future competitions.  ASEV awarded six students with the 2021 Best Student Presentation Awards. Special thanks are extended to Lallemand, the enology awards sponsor.

This year’s recipients are as follows:

For Viticulture:

  • ORAL – Robert Blundell, University of California, Davis, for “Evaluation of Grapevine-Derived Microbes for Sustainable Pruning Wound Protection Against Grapevine Trunk Disease”
  • POSTER – Arran Rumbaugh, University of California, Davis, for “Effects of Grapevine Red Blotch Virus (GRBV) on Grape Metabolic Pathways through Ripening”
  • FLASH TALK – Evelyn Alvarez-Mendoza, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo, for “Fungicide Resistance of Botrytis cinerea Populations on Wine Grapes in the Central Coast of California”

For Enology:

  • ORAL – Rachel Allison, Cornell University, New York, for “Accelerated Bench-Tests for Predicting H2S Formation in Canned Wines”
  • POSTER – Yiliang Cheng, Iowa State University, Ames, for “How do Accentuated Cut Edges and Macerating Enzyme Affect Phenolic Compounds Extraction on Marquette Wines?”
  • FLASH TALK– Jenna Fryer, Oregon State University, Corvallis, for “Smoke Attribute Carryover and Functionality of Rinse Systems in Sensory Analysis of Wildfire Affected Wines”

The Best Student Presentation Awards Committee includes James Osborne (Chair) from Oregon State University, Corvallis; Elizabeth Chang from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Blacksburg; Alec Levin from Oregon State University, Corvallis; Stephen Menke from Colorado State University, Grand Junction; Caroline Merrell from Jackson Family Wines in California; Mercy Olmstead from E. & J. Gallo Winery in California; Merilark Padgett-Johnson from Santa Rosa Junior College in California; Michael Sipiora from Treasury Wine Estates in California; and Qun (Kristy) Sun from California State University, Fresno.

Founded in 1950 by a group of researchers and winemakers, the ASEV is dedicated to the interests of enologists, viticulturists and others in the fields of wine and grape research and production throughout the world.  For more information, visit