Ad hoc Committee

Lab Proficiency Committee

This committee’s charge is to advocate for the importance and value of effective lab quality practices in wineries, identify and provide access to collaborative studies of lab analyses to improve the reliability of lab measurements, disseminate contracted wine testing program reports and other related collaborative testing information to ASEV members, and to provide the Board with a report for ASEV membership on trends and degree of progress for materials and methods derived from program testing results no less than every three years. This committee meets at least two (2) times per year (live or conference/video call). Additional meetings may be scheduled throughout the year as well.

This committee is comprised of professional and emeritus members per the Ad hoc Committee Protocol. Committee members are nominated on an as-needed basis and are approved by the ASEV Board of Directors.
  • Steve Tallman (Chair), E. & J. Gallo Winery, California
  • Pat Howe (Vice-chair), California
  • Federico Casassa, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
  • Leith Franklin, ETS Laboratories, California
  • Christopher Gerling, New York State Agricultural Experiment Station
  • Pat Henderson, About Wine Consulting, California
  • Cathrine Olson, Constellation Brands Inc, California
  • Cynthia Stoub, E. & J. Gallo Winery, California
  • Christian Sweeney, Constellation Brands, California
  • Scott Granish (non-voting advisor), Collaborative Testing Services, Virginia

Alternate Board Member

  • James Harbertson, Washington State University, Tri-Cities