Press release Davis, CA

ASEV Selects 2016 Best Enology and Viticulture Papers

DAVIS, Calif., April 6, 2016…The American Society for Enology and Viticulture (ASEV) has selected the recipients of the 2016 Best Paper Awards. The selected authors will be presenting their papers as keynote presentations at the Society’s 67th National Conference on June 27-30 in Monterey, California. 

Researchers Angelita Gambuti of the University of Naples, Italy; Guomin Han of Northwest A&F University, China; and Ana L. Peterson and Andrew L. Waterhouse of University of California, Davis, were awarded the best enology paper for “Sulfur Dioxide and Glutathione Alter the Outcome of Microoxygenation.”

The best viticulture paper, “Characterization of Winery Wastewater for Reuse in California,” was awarded to Maya C. Buelow of the University of California, Davis; Kerri Steenwerth of USDA/ARS c/o the Department of Viticulture and Enology, University of California, Davis; Lucas C. R. Silva and Sanjai J. Parikh, both from the University of California, Davis.

“Congratulations to the authors,” says ASEV Executive Director Dan Howard. “ASEV is fortunate to be working with a dedicated group of people who devoted countless hours to reviewing papers and making all of this possible.”

Each year, the ASEV Best Paper Awards Committee evaluates all manuscripts published in the American Journal of Enology and Viticulture (AJEV) during the previous year and selects one paper in viticulture and one in enology that reflects outstanding research and a substantial contribution to the field. The 2016 Best Paper Award Committee includes James Harbertson (Chair) of Washington State University, Tri-Cities; Lise Asimont of Francis Ford Coppola Presents; Leticia Chacón-Rodríguez of Safe Harbor Wine Storage; Zeke Neeley of Trefethen Family Vineyards; Merilark Padgett-Johnson of Santa Rosa Junior College; Joe Shirley of Trinchero Family Estates; David Sorokowsky of E&J Gallo Winery; and Fritz Westover of Vineyard Team, California. 

The authors will be presented with a plaque and monetary award, thanks to the generous support of J. Lohr Vineyards, at the National Conference.

Both best papers are highlighted on and are available free of charge.