Press release Davis, CA

ASEV Recognizes Dr. Andy Walker for 2017 Merit Award

Davis, Calif., March 27, 2017…Professor and geneticist Dr. Andrew Walker of the University of California, Davis, has been confirmed as the recipient of the 2017 Merit Award, the American Society for Enology and Viticulture’s (ASEV) highest honor. He will be sharing his presentation, “The Southwestern Vitis – A Grape Breeding Motherlode,” on June 29, 2017 at the ASEV’s 68th National Conference in Bellevue, Washington.

“We seek to find scientific answers in my lab and classroom, but maybe of more importance is the opportunity to share my work with students and the industry, and to translate it for those working in the vineyards and wineries,” said Dr. Walker. “It’s an honor to be part of a community that’s seeking to advance our industry, staying connected and moving forward.”

Dr. Andy Walker’s lab focuses on grape breeding and the genetics of resistance to pests and diseases. He breeds rootstocks for resistance to nematodes, phylloxera, fanleaf, drought and salinity, and wine grapes with resistance to Pierce’s disease and powdery mildew. He served as the Louis P. Martini Endowed Chair from 2000 to 2015 and was recently appointed the Louise Rossi Endowed Chair in Viticulture in 2015.

Dr. Walker is currently a professor and geneticist at the University of California, Davis, teaching general viticulture and grapevine identification. Dr. Walker has a long history of involvement with ASEV, serving as secretary/treasurer from 1999 to 2004 and technical program director from 2011to 2015. He was also ASEV’s Honorary Research Lecturer in 2009.

Each year, the ASEV presents the Merit Award to an individual who has significantly contributed in an outstanding manner to the progress and advancement of enology and viticulture in the industry and/or to the Society. The award acknowledges excellence in the fields of education, technology, management, public relations or any discipline related to enology and viticulture.

The ASEV National Conference was established in 1950 as an annual meeting by a committee of industry and academic representatives comprised of founding leaders such as Maynard Amerine, James Guymon, Joseph Heitz, Louis P. Martini, Harold Olmo, Andre Tchelistcheff, A.W. Webb and A. J. Winkler. The event serves as the wine and grape industry’s platform for progress, offering a unique combination of continued professional education in regard to scientific rigor and fundamental practice. The diverse and comprehensive program includes seminars addressing topics of daily experience in the winery and vineyard as well as reports and updates on original research, and enology and viticulture work in progress.

Open to all industry and academic representatives, the National Conference provides an ideal opportunity for networking among members of all U.S. wine and grape regions as well as international experts and professionals. Click here for the latest information about the 68th National Conference.