ASEV Platform

UC Davis Anita Oberholster to Receive the 2021 Extension Distinction Award

ASEV has confirmed Dr. Anita Oberholster as the 2021 Extension Distinction Award recipient. Dr. Oberholster, an Associate Specialist in Cooperative Extension in Enology for Agricultural Natural Resources (ANR) based at UC Davis, will be presenting the Extension Distinction Award Presentation at the 2021 ASEV National Conference on June 21-24.

As an extension specialist, Dr. Oberholster conducts applied research and extension programs for wine grapes and wine. Her research focuses on two main parts: (1) the influence of both viticulture practices and environmental factors on grape ripening and composition, and related wine quality, and (2) investigations to determine the influence of different vinification practices on wine composition and quality. Dr. Oberholster was involved in the development of the mouthfeel wheel for red wine during her doctorate studies, as well as researching changes in polymeric pigment structure and composition with wine aging. Her newest research focus area is the impact of wildfire smoke on grape and wine quality. You can read more about her professional bio here.

She received her bachelor’s degree in chemistry and biochemistry and her honors degree in chemistry from Stellenbosch University in South Africa and her doctorate in sciences from the University of Adelaide in Australia.

Dr. Oberholster has been a member of ASEV since 2011 and served as an ASEV board director from 2014-2017. She has also served on the ASEV Best Paper Committee, as an AJEV reviewer, and National Conference moderator and speaker, and she continues to serve on the ASEV Technical Program Committee.

Oberholster is a member of other organizations, including the American Chemical Society, Groupe Polyphenols, West Coast Smoke Exposure Task Force, CA & ES Graduate Education Committee, Chemical and Laboratory Safety Committee, Viticulture & Enology and Food Science and Technology Graduate Group Executive Committees, Robert Mondavi Institute Executive Committee and chair of the University of California, Davis Viticulture & Enology Extension Coordination Committee. She reviews for 25 peer-reviewed journals and different funding proposals. She was previously a member of the Specialist Advisory Committee which advises the Dean of the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences (CA & ES) on Cooperative Extension issues, South African Society of Enology and Viticulture, and the Australian Society of Viticulture and Enology.