ASEV Platform

ASEV Platform – August 2018

ASEV Platform

ASEV Confirms New President and Board Members

John Thorngate, Vice President of Operations Technical Services at Constellation Brands, has been confirmed as the 2018-2019 ASEV Board President. Click here for press release. He will lead a 12-member board that includes:

  • Kristen Barnhisel of J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines – First Vice President
  • Patty Skinkis of Oregon State University, Corvallis – Second Vice President
  • Tom Collins of Washington State University, Tri-Cities – Secretary-Treasurer
  • James Harbertson of Washington State University, Tri-Cities – Technical Program Director
  • Markus Keller of Washington State University, Prosser – ASEV Science Editor
  • Torey Arvik* of Sonomaceuticals/WholeVine Products, California – Director
  • Michelle Moyer* of Washington State University, Prosser – Director
  • Anita Oberholster of the University of California, Davis – Director
  • Merilark Padgett-Johnson of Santa Rosa Junior College, California – Director
  • R. Keith Striegler of E. & J. Gallo Winery, California – Director
  • Hans Walter-Peterson of Cornell Cooperative Extension, New York – Director

*indicates new directors

ASEV Platform

First Joint Symposium on Yeast and Fermented Beverage Flavor

The American Society of Brewing Chemists (ASBC) and ASEV are pleased to announce their first joint symposium on yeast and fermented beverage flavor to be held on April 24-26, 2019, in Sonoma County, California. Mark your calendars and plan to join us for two-and-a-half days of sharing new, exciting and relevant research in the areas of yeast aroma and flavor in fermented beverages. Notable speakers invited from around the world will share their knowledge about the impact of yeast on wine, beer, cider and distillate flavor and aroma.

Stay tuned for more information, or visit our website regularly for current news. Sponsorship opportunities are available as well.

ASEV Platform

69th ASEV National Conference Videos, Technical Updates and Photos

If you missed the last National Conference, there’s really no way to recapture the camaraderie and the networking, but ASEV does have the video recording of the Brettanomyces Symposium, a summary of the research presentations in the technical abstracts booklet and an album of photos from the conference last June.

ASEV members can view the Brettanomyces Symposium online by clicking this link. In addition, videos of other past symposia are available to members for free at  

The technical abstracts are available to download here.

And for fun, visit to see pictures taken from the conference in Monterey, California.

Mark your calendar for next year’s National Conference in Napa, California, June 17-20, 2019.

ASEV Platform

ASEV Presented $107,500 in Scholarships to 37 Students

Jennifer Kelly and Andrej Svyantek Each year, ASEV awards scholarships to students pursuing a degree in enology, viticulture or a curriculum emphasizing a science basic to the wine and grape industry. This year, 37 students throughout North America received a total of $107,500 to help support their academic pursuits and provide an introduction into the grape and wine industry. For a list of the 2018-2019 Scholarship recipients, click here.

Two students received the ASEV Presidents’ Award for Scholarship in Enology and Viticulture for which each student received $12,500 for exceeding the expectations of the traditional scholarship program and showing remarkable leadership potential. The enology award went to Jennifer Kelly of Brock University in Canada, and the viticulture award went to Andrej Svyantek of North Dakota State University, Fargo.

ASEV Platform

2018 Best Student Presentation Award Winners

Six students received accolades for their oral, poster and flash talk presentations at the 69th ASEV National Conference last June. The following students were recognized:


  • Oral Presentation: Elizabeth Burzynski, Cornell University, New York, Sour Grapes, Indeed! Malic Acid Increases in Certain Vitis spp. during Maturation
  • Poster: Sarah Mayfield, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, Identification of Anthocyanins in Enchantment Grapes and During Wine Production
  • Flash Talk: Molly Felts, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, Evaluation of Postharvest Marketability of Arkansas Table Grapes Grown in High Tunnel Production


  • Oral Presentation: Cory Marx, University of California, Davis, Optimization of Winery Cleaning and Sanitation: Effective Chemistries for Microbial Inactivation and Fermentation Soils
  • Poster: Matthew Noestheden, The University of British Columbia, Canada, Smoke Taint: Challenging Current Beliefs and Exploring In-Winery Mitigation Strategies
  • Flash Talk: Thi Nguyen, University of California, Davis, Postfermentation Production of Acetaldehyde of Saccharomyces cerevisiae

Awards were made possible thanks to the generous support of Lallemand (enology) and J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines (viticulture), and the Best Student Presentation Awards Committee.

ASEV Platform

June Technical Liaison Minutes Available to Members

The Technical Liaison Committee met last June. ASEV members can now access the June 2018 Minutes  from the ASEV website. Member login is required.

ASEV Platform

New Members and Industrial Affiliates

We are excited to welcome our new ASEV members and Industrial Affiliates. Click here to see which of your colleagues have joined ASEV as of August and September 2018.

ASEV Platform

Volunteering with ASEV

Here at ASEV, volunteers are the heart of the organization and essential to our success. Our board and committee members are all volunteers. They continually use their voices to shape and influence the wine and grape industry. We’d love to have you join us. Click here to find out how you can be a part of this community.

ASEV Platform

Become a Member

Access to decades of peer-reviewed research, discounted fees to the Unified Symposium, the ASEV National Conference and other ASEV sponsored professional development events, and videos on-demand are just some of the membership benefits you can enjoy. Interested in finding out more? Click here or call us at (530) 753-3142.