Rous Heads New ASEV Board

Craig Rous of Bear Creek Winery in Lodi has been confirmed as president of the 2007-2008 American Society for Enology and Viticulture’s (ASEV) board of directors. Rous will lead the 12-member board and build on the successes of Patricia Howe, the immediate past president. Michael Silacci of Opus One was also confirmed by the board to move to First Vice President.

Rous has been an ASEV member and volunteer since 1980. He last served as a board director in 2004, chaired the Society’s scholarship committee for several years and in 1993 received the ASEV Technical Projects Committee’s “Outstanding Work Award”. He received his Bachelor and Master of Science from the University of California, Davis.

Four new board members have been elected. Christian Butzke of Purdue University was elected to serve as the Society’s second vice president. Jim Harbertson of Washington State University will also assume a new seat on the board as Director. Members re-elected are Sara Spayd of North Carolina State University, Raleigh as Secretary-Treasurer and Mike Vail of Agro Tech as Director.

Formed in 1950, ASEV is a professional society dedicated to the interests of enologists, viticulturists and others in the fields of wine and grape research and production throughout the world. The Society’s membership includes professionals from wineries, vineyards, academic institutions and organizations. For more information, visit