ASEV Selects Best Enology and Viticulture Papers

Innovative research deserves recognition, and in the field of enology and viticulture the American Society for Enology and Viticulture’s (ASEV) Best Paper Awards are very well regarded. Based on groundbreaking research from around the world published in the American Journal of Enology and Viticulture (AJEV), the Society has selected the 2011 Best Papers Award, which will be recognized at the ASEV’s National Conference on June 20-24 in Monterey, Calif.

The best viticulture paper is awarded to Spanish researchers Pascual Romero, Jose Ignacio Fernández-Fernández and Adrián Martinez-Cutillas of Instituto Murciano de Investigación y Desarrollo Agrario y Alimentario for their paper titled “Physiological Thresholds for Efficient Regulated Deficit-Irrigation Management in Winegrapes Grown Under Semiarid Conditions.”

The committee also selected the top enology paper, a research collaboration between the University of California, Davis, and Murdoch University, Australia, titled “Effect of Simulated Shipping Conditions on Sensory Attributes and Volatile Composition of Commercial White and Red Wines.” Authors of the paper are Anthony L. Robinson of Murdoch University, Australia; Martha Mueller, Hildegarde Heymann and Susan Ebeler of the University of California, Davis; Paul K. Boss of CSIRO Plant & Industry Food Futures Flagship, Australia; Peter S. Solomon of the Australian National University, Australia; and Robert D. Trengove of Murdoch University, Australia.

“With so many well-written papers submitted, making a selection was difficult. It is exciting to be able to share this information on topics of great interest and to learn from such excellent researchers. These complete studies are a solid foundation from which many other research projects can expand,” says Leticia Chacon-Rodriguez, committee chair. “The ASEV is eager to see the contribution these papers will have on the future of our industry.”

Each year, the ASEV best paper committee reads and evaluates all the research articles published in the AJEV during the previous year and selects one paper in viticulture and one in enology that reflect outstanding research and a substantial contribution to their fields. The 2010-11 committee members include: Leticia Chacon-Rodriguez (chair), Treasury Wine Estates; Enology: Torey Arvik, Jackson Family Farms; Tim Milos, consulting winemaker; Trevor Phister, North Carolina State University; Viticulture: Terry Bates, Cornell University; Mark Greenspan, Advanced Viticulture; and Julie Tarara, USDA ARS, Washington. The authors will be presented with a plaque and monetary award at the June 2011 ASEV National Conference in Monterey, Calif.

Both best papers are currently highlighted at and are available free of charge.