ASEV Awards $60,000 in Scholarships

Committed to building the next generation of industry leaders, the American Society for Enology and Viticulture (ASEV) awarded 20 students studying in North America with scholarships totaling $60,000. All the recipients are pursuing a degree in enology, viticulture or a curriculum emphasizing a science basic to the wine and grape industry at universities and colleges across the nation. ASEV is proud to announce the recipients of the 2008-2009 scholarships:

  • Dwayne Bershaw, University of California, Davis
  • Seth Cohen, Oregon State University, Corvallis
  • Rhonda Cooper, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
  • Levi Fredrikson, Oregon State University, Corvallis
  • Denise Gardner, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • Monica Hadarits, University of Guelph, Canada
  • Derrick Hammons, University of Kentucky, Lexington
  • Michael Krawitzky, Texas Tech University
  • Erik Mallea, California State University, Fresno
  • Nina Mansell, Oregon State University, Corvallis
  • Allison O’Neil, Oregon State University, Corvallis
  • Kerry Shiels, University of California, Davis
  • David Takush, Oregon State University, Corvallis
  • Emily Terrell, University of British Columbia, Canada
  • Jose Ramon Urbez-Torres, University of California, Davis
  • Jim Willwerth, Brock University, Canada
  • Patsy Wilson, University of Kentucky, Lexington

Each year, the ASEV’s scholarship committee reviews many worthy applicants. The ASEV extends its gratitude to the dedicated committee members for their time and support in shaping our next generation of enologists and viticulturists. This year’s committee included Patty Saldivar (Chair) of Pine Ridge Winery; Chris Carpenter of Lokoya winery; Peter Cousins of Cornell University; James Ewart of Delicato Vineyards; Jim Lincoln of Beckstoffer Vineyards; Steve Vasquez of the University of California Cooperative Extension, Fresno County; and Stan Zervas of Silverado Farming.