Scholarship Programs


ASEV Scholarship Programs

The American Society for Enology and Viticulture annually awards numerous scholarships to students pursuing a degree in enology, viticulture, or in a curriculum emphasizing a science basic to the wine and grape industry.

We are now offering the following two scholarship programs:

  1. ASEV Traditional Scholarship – The scholarship awards for our traditional program are not in predetermined amounts. The amounts will vary from year to year depending on the number of qualified applicants. Click here for details.ASEV Traditional Scholarship Application
  2. ASEV Presidents’ Award for Scholarship in Enology and Viticulture - This special scholarship will be awarded to two students that exceed the expectations of our traditional scholarship program. One scholarship in enology and one in viticulture will be awarded in the amount of $12,500 each. Click here for details.
    ASEV Presidents’ Award for Scholarship Application

All scholarship recommendations made by the Scholarship Committee are subject to final approval by the Board of Directors.

The Society does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, nationality, religion, gender, or physical/mental disabilities. The Society has no affiliation with the University of California or other institutions that may also offer scholarship programs.

Previous applicants and recipients are eligible to reapply each year in open competition with new applicants for the ASEV Traditional Scholarship. Recipients of the ASEV Presidents’ Award for Scholarship are not eligible to reapply. The ASEV reserves the right not to award scholarships at all in any given year.

General information

Scholarship Eligibility & Awards

The application deadline is March 1 of each year for both scholarships. All completed forms, letters, transcripts, and other required information must be received by the Scholarship Committee by March 1 for consideration for an award for the following scholastic year.

General information

2017-2018 Scholarship Recipients

ASEV Presidents’ Award for Scholarship in Enology and Viticulture

Megan Hall
Cornell University, New York
Sydney Morgan
University of British Columbia, Canada

ASEV Traditional Scholarship

Kathleen Amaral California State University, Fresno
Theodore Baglien Oregon State University, Corvallis
Jordan Beaver University of California, Davis
Robert Beezer Washington State University, Pullman
Mathias Bougreau Texas Tech University, Lubbock
Zachary Cartwright Washington State University, Pullman
Christopher Chen University of California, Davis
Ruiming Chen Cornell University, New York
Natasha Cureau University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
Carina Duran Oregon State University, Corvallis
Katherine East Washington State University, Prosser
Laila Fayyaz University of California, Davis
Molly Felts University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
Jaclyn Fiola* Ohio State University, Columbus
Suzanne Fleishman The Pennsylvania State University, University Park
Ian Forest University of Nevada, Reno
Andrew Harner Pennsylvania State University, University Park
Karla Huerta University of California, Davis
Todd Jenkins University of California, Davis
Jared Johnson Oregon State University, Corvallis
Chase Jutzi Oregon State University, Corvallis
Anne Kearney Cornell University, New York
Yevgen Kovalenko University of British Columbia, Canada
Edward Kronfli University of California, Davis
Jerry Lin University of California, Davis
Xiaochi Ma Washington State University, Pullman
Margaret McCoy Washington State University, Prosser
Curtis Merrick Washington State University, Pullman
Andy Nguyen University of California, Davis
Matthew Noestheden University of British Columbia, Canada
Steven Schneider Missouri State University, Springfield
Maria Smith Pennsylvania State University, University Park
Jacob Uretsky University of California, Davis
Xuefei Wang Washington State University, Pullman
Runze Yu University of California, Davis

*Recipient of the ASEV Michael Vail scholarship

General information

2016-2017 Scholarship Recipients

General information

2015-2016 Scholarship Recipients