2019 Award Presentations & HRL Lecture


ASEV Extension Distinction Award Presentation
Building Effective Extension Networks to Support Data-driven Decision Making

Dr. Monica Cooper
Location: Napa Valley Marriott Hotel

This honor recognizes a current extension educator for outstanding contribution to an extension program or the advanced translation of novel research findings into commercially applicable tools for enologists or viticulturists.

ASEV is pleased to announce the 2019 Extension Distinction Award recipient, Dr. Monica Cooper of University of California Cooperative Extension, Napa Valley. 



2019 Honorary Research Lecturer
Perspectives on Grape and Wine Flavor: Past, Present, and Future

Dr. Susan Ebeler

We are pleased to host our 2019 Honorary Research Lecturer Dr. Susan Ebeler, a Professor in the Department of Viticulture and Enology at University of California Davis.

The honorary research lecturer is granted to an individual with a current national or international reputation in his or her field of research who is also actively involved in scientific research.



2019 ASEV Merit Award Presentation
Grape and Wine Industry, Research, Extension and Education: It Takes Villages

Dr. Sara Spayd

Dr. Sara Spayd is Professor Emerita at North Carolina State University, Raleigh.

The ASEV Merit Award is presented annually to an individual who has significantly contributed in an outstanding manner to the progress and advancement of enology and viticulture to the industry and/or to the Society. This award acknowledges excellence in the fields of education, technology, research, management, public relations, or any discipline related to enology and viticulture.

The ASEV Board is pleased to honor Dr. Sara Spayd of North Carolina State University, Raleigh as ASEV’s 2019 Merit Award recipient.